top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTennyson Mouse

Scurrying Ants


I can't be the only one who enjoys sitting back and watching the busy ants crawling up and down the ant hill, going to and fro, working together to make sure that everyone is fed and cared for can I?


The weather here in Aruna Valley has been so warm and dry so far this summer and many of us here have been feeling the heat. Not the ants though. No matter the weather, they're out in force gathering and scurrying about.


One of my favourite things to do on a day where I don't feel like going far from home is to hide between the rocks, or beneath the trees and watch the ants.


This morning as I watched, a group of ants working together carried a dead beetle on their backs across the ground, over the leaf litter, all the way up the ant hill, and disappeared inside with it. I guess they were especially hungry today!


I know I was!


After watching the ants, I went back to my tree house and enjoyed eating a grape I got from the garden yesterday. It was sweet and juicy, and afterwards I felt so refreshed!


Next week is the annual Aruna Valley orchestra concert, and I have to admit, I'm starting to feel a little nervous about it all. I've been practicing a lot, and I know my music well. I'm sure it will all go well, we've all worked very hard, and if anyone makes a mistake, of course we will all be there to help them, because mistakes are a part of learning, and of life, and with good friends to support us, we can get through them together.


I'll see if I can convince Laura to draw some pictures from the concert for me to share with you all when I tell you the story of the Aruna Valley orchestra, and our concert.


Until then, stay adventurous!

xo Tennyson Mouse.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page